The Navratri Basilica of NamesThe Book of the DaysThe Names of the Most Holy GrailThe Tabernacle of Ni

The Navratri Basilica of Names: PART-I

Many tourists and a few pilgrims visit the splendid basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore in Rome.  They admire the lofty perspectives, rich ornamentation and the marmoreal…

Read More

The Navratri Basilica of Names: PART-II

“So now, O Sons of the Thought, listen to Me, to the Speech of the Mother of your mercy, for you have become worthy of the…

Read More


Worshipped in an unknown and secret place

Corresponding to the first level of initiation

Read More


All energies that are Her creations

Corresponding to the second level of initiation

Read More


Presiding deity of the sacred waters

Corresponding to the third level of initiation

Read More


Her heart overflows with compassion

Corresponding to the fourth level of initiation

Read More


The entire creation emanates from Her

Corresponding to the fifth level of initiation

Read More


She is the power behind all knowledge

Corresponding to the sixth level of initiation

Read More


Residing in the thousand petalled lotus

Corresponding to the seventh level of initiation

Read More

“Blessed are the few that serve Thee, the flood of consciousness and bliss, having, as thy abode, the mattress of  Paramshiva, laid on the couch of the multi triangular form of Shiva, in the mansion built of Chintamani stones, attached to the pleasure garden of Nipa trees, in the isle of gems, surrounded by an avenue of Kalpa trees and situated amidst the ocean of nectar”

Adi Shankaracharya, The Saundaralahari – 8th shloka


She dwells in the mansion bedecked with wish fulfilling precious stones


She is in the centre of the orb of the moon, meaning also Sahasrara


She is in the centre of the ocean of nectar.  She is the abode of bliss


She pervades the plenitude of the bliss contained in the petals of  the king chakra


She dwells in everybody as the source of all bliss or enjoyment


The great bliss


Full of bliss


Her eyes turn inwards in enjoyment of spiritual ecstasy


The bliss of brahma.  There are various grades of bliss and this is the highest


The bliss resulting from Yoga.  The bliss of Turya state


One who enjoys


The ultimate bliss


Brilliantly red as immersed in Brahmananda


Ambrosial stream or flow of bliss resulting from meditation on the Goddess in Sahahsrara


She rains the quintessence of nectar. 
The devotee feels incomparable bliss in this state. 
Here culminates the Kundalini-sadhana


She confers unbroken stream of bliss


Confers the bliss of liberation


Giver of the unequalled bliss of liberation


Fond of honey which refers to the bliss of Liberation


She is and gives the bliss if the secret nectar


Ambrosial rain which extinguishes the forest fire of samsara,
the cycle of births and deaths

Just as a peacock dances with pleasure at the sight of the clouds,
even so, she makes the mind of the devotee dance with bliss

Of the form of ultimate bliss of realization

She is of the form of the consciousness of bliss

One who grants things dearest to her devotees

Of the form of bliss that is contained in divine love

Well nourrished by Brahmananda

The knowledge that produces Ananda or bliss

Always blissful and satisfied and conferring this state
in the mind of the evolved devotee

Who showers Her grace on Her devotees very quickly

Bestower of happiness or eternal bliss

She is always the giver of the eternal kingdom or dominion of bliss

Who enjoys happiness

Delightful to Her devotees

Experience of the attributeless consciousness, which is also experienced
as a matter of bliss, She is the bliss of reality at its core

Inebriated with the drinking of ambrosia

Drunk with the juice of the thousand petal lotus

Svatmananda-Lavibhuta Brahmadyananda-Santaith
All the bliss enjoyed by the beings from Brahma downwards put together
is but a drop in the ocean of Bliss enjoyed by Herself.

Of the form of the experience of the nectar of attributeless consciousness which

Sat Chit Ananda
Truth, consciousness and bliss, the nature of the divine Self or Atma.

Expressed in the form of bliss that flows from the knowledge of the pure truth

Of the nature of Truth and Bliss

Peaceful or waveless ocean of nectar

Natural sweetness. She resides in the heart of Her devotees as bliss or Ananda

She is the power behind all modes of enjoyment and/or She is a lady of taste.

An ocean of celestial bliss

“Having in-filled the pathway of the nadis with the streaming shower of nectar flowing from thy pair of feet, having resumed Thine own position from out of the resplendent lunar regions, and thyself assuming the form of a serpent of three-and-a-half coils, sleepest Thou in the hollow of the Kulakunda”,

Adi Shankaracharya, The Saundaralahari – 10th shloka


We can only express that She cannot be expressed, and this too is not entirely correct.The names of the Sahasrarnamam are an expression of the culmination of Upanishadic philosophy as they express how the essential unity becomes multiplicity in the course of its manifestation. The names have been extracted from the the Shri Lalita Sahasrarnamam, as declared by Shri Hayagriva in the Brahmanda  Purana, based on the English translation by dr Chaganty Suryanarayanamurthy ,(Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Bombay 1975).

This scholarly work was published in 1975, the blessed year in which the errand traveller from the mountain land placed a call to the Goddess from a house in the vicinity of Holland Park, London. He was invited to come to a lovely white house nestled in the Surrey hills. And so he found and he was found, he was taken, stunnedand immerged in the pond.

William Blake, ‘Milton’(1811) plate 4, lines17-22

“The Surrey hills glow like the clinkers of the furnace;
Lambeth’s ValeWhere Jerusalem’s foundations began;
where they were laid in ruins
Where they were laid in ruins from every Nation and Oak Groves rooted
Dark gleams before the Furnace-mouth, a heap of burning ashes.
When shall Jerusalem return and overspread all the Nations?
Return: return to Lambeth’s Vale  O building of human souls! …”

Nirmala Pure
Nirupama Unequalled
Nitya-klinna Her heart overflows with compassion.
Niradhara Unsupported, she is the support of the universe
Niranjana Unstained.
Nirlepa Untouched by various karmas and dualisms
Nitya Eternal
Nirakara She is formless, undifferentiated consciousness
Nirakula Unruffled
Nirguna Attributeless, beyond the three gunas
Nishkala Indivisible, complete
Nishkama Nothing to desire having everything
Nurupaplava Indestructible
Nitya-mukta Ever free, or Her devotees are ever free
Nirvikara She is changeless, but is the unchanging basis of all changes
Nishprapancha She is beyond the universe of material elements
Nirashraya She has no basis since She is everything
Nitya-Suddha Eternally pure
Nitya-Buddha Ever wakeful
Niravadya Unassailable or who saves Her devotees from the hell of ignorance
Nirantara Undifferentiated
Nishkarana Causeless, cause of all causes
Nishkalanka Faultless brilliance
Nirupadhih Alone; without Maya, the basis of plurality
Nirishvara Supreme
Niraga Unattached
Nirmada Prideless
Nischinta Without anxiety
Nirahamkara Egoless
Nirmoha Without any illusion such as mistaking the unreal for the real
Nirmama Without selfishness
Nishpapa She is devoid of ignorance
Nishkrodha Without anger
Nirlobha Without greed
Nissamsaya Having no doubts
Nirbhava Unborn
Nirvikalpa She has no mental activities
Nirabadha Untroubled
Nirbheda Undifferentiated, integral
Nirdvaita Devoid of duality
Nirnasha Deathless
Nishkriya Beyond all action
Nishparigraha Takes nothing since She needs nothing as she is or has everything
Nistula Unequalled
Nilachikura Dark haired
Nirapaya Beyond danger
Niratyaya Impossible to cross or transgress
Nistraigunya Untouched by the three gunas revealed in the Bhagavad Gita